Jun 16, 2014

How to Fight a DUI in Maryland: What You Need to Know

Jun 16, 2014 - Resources by |

Understanding Maryland DUI Laws & Penalties, & How to Fight a DUI in Maryland:

If you’re looking to learn how to fight a DUI in Maryland, then you’ve likely already found yourself in a position you don’t want to be. It’s crucial that you understand Maryland DUI laws and penalties, and the process which is involved with drunk driving charges, so that you know the right steps to take and how to properly protect yourself.

Perhaps the most important fact to understand about how to fight a DUI in Maryland is that each individual case is different. There are dozens of potential elements to consider, including all of the specifics of your arrest and/or incident, additional or related charges, whether or not you agreed to field or Breathalyzer tests and what the results were, your previous driving history, and much more.

That means you should never make any assumptions, and you should never leave anything up to chance. You need to look for experienced DUI lawyers in Maryland who can help you through this process, help you seek positive outcomes or alternative resolutions, and more.

That said, it’s still very important to be familiar with Maryland DUI laws, penalties and processes. In general, the following penalties may apply if you have been convicted of a DUI or DWI.

  • Maryland DUI 1st offense: Up to one year jail, up to $1,000 fine and minimum 6 months license suspension and 12 points.
  • Maryland DUI 2nd offense: Up to two years, $2,000 and minimum one year suspension and 12 points.
  • Maryland DWI 1st offense: Up to two months jail, $500 fine, minimum six months suspension and 8 points on license.
  • Maryland DWI 2nd offense: Up to one year, $500 fine, one year minimum suspension and 8 points.

One way to fight a DUI in Maryland is to seek alternative resolutions, which may include educational programs, counseling, community service, and other options designed to reduce or eliminate penalties.

You may also fight the suspension of your license via an official appeal within 30 days of having it suspended. To have your license reinstated after suspension, you’ll still need to meet certain requirements or mandates.

At the Law Offices of Brandon Bernstein, we’re here to help. Our experience, commitment and attention to detail, along with our knowledge of the latest Maryland DUI penalties and DUI laws, and how to fight a DUI in the state, may be able to help you achieve the successful outcome you’ve been seeking.

Call our office at 240.395.1418 and we’ll provide you with a free consultation to begin discussing your case and how we may be able to help you fight a DUI in Maryland.

Disclaimer

The information and materials on this blog are provided for general informational purposes only and are not intended to be legal advice. Read our full disclosure here.