What You Must Know about Maryland DUI Laws
It’s crucial that you are informed about all of the current Maryland DUI laws, so that you know what to expect and what you may be facing should you be arrested or charged. Here, we’ll provide a list of some of the most important Maryland drunk driving laws, including information on penalties, differences between a DUI (driving under the influence) and DWI (driving while intoxicated), as well as first and repeat offenses, and more.
What is a DUI in Maryland?
You may be charged with a DUI in Maryland if you had a blood alcohol concentration or BAC of .08% or higher.
If you’re under the age of 21, then you may be charged with a DUI at .02%.
What is a Maryland DWI?
A DWI equates to a BAC of .07% or less. This means that you fell short of the minimum requirement of a DUI, but you may have failed field sobriety tests or exhibited other signs which led to you being pulled over and charged.
You generally need to register at least a .04% to be charged with a DWI although this is also at the discretion of the officer.
Maryland DUI Penalties
If convicted of a DUI, you may be given points on your driver’s license, which can also lead to the immediate revocation of your license.
For a Maryland DUI first offense, you may face a fine of $1,000, which is doubled to $2,000 for a second offense, and tripled to $3,000 for a third offense.
Jail time may include up to one year for a Maryland DUI first offense, two years for a 2nd offense, and three years for a 3rd offense.
The penalty for a DWI conviction includes 8 points against your license and a $500 fine. Jail time could be up to 2 months for a 1st offense or up to 1 year for a 2nd offense.
Depending on your circumstances, you may be required to install an ignition Interlock Device in your vehicle.
Another important aspect of DUI in Maryland is the length of time which must pass before you have your slate wiped clean. The look back period in the state is currently 5 years, which means that after that point of time has transpired, you would be facing a first offense if you were charged again.
Maryland Drunk Driving Laws for License Reinstatement
To have your license reinstated after revocation, you will need to attend an alcohol education course. You may also need to take additional courses such as driver improvement education, while competing other requirements specified by your citations or charges.
The length of your license suspension or revocation will depend on the specific circumstances of your arrest, including your BAC, any related or additional charges, whether this is a Maryland DUI first offense or repeat incident, and more.
A suspension hearing may be held within 30 days of having your license suspended, which includes, amongst other requirements, a $150 fee.
Of course, this is just the beginning of the Maryland drunk driving laws you should be familiar with, and with such a great number of variables and differing circumstances, it’s crucial that you obtain legal representation.
Call the Law Offices of Brandon Bernstein at 240.395.1418 and we’ll discuss what you need to do, how we can help you make sense of the Maryland DUI laws and any penalties you may be facing, and what your next step should be.
The information and materials on this blog are provided for general informational purposes only and are not intended to be legal advice. Read our full disclosure here.